

TOWN OF MOUNT DESERT

Warrant Committee

Tuesday, February 04, 2020 / 6:00PM

Town Hall Meeting Room 21 Sea Street Northeast Harbor

Minutes

Present (17): Gail Marshall, Phil Lichtenstein, Jerry Miller, Tim Murphy, Stephanie Reece, Brian Henkel, Jesse Hartson, Donna Reis, Ellen Brawley, Owen Craighead, Kathy Miller, Katrina Carter, Rodney Eason, Carmen Sanford, Sam McGee, Tom Savage, Blakesley Bell

Excused (6): Ellen Kappes, Norris Reddish, Bill Ferm, Tate Bushell, Craig Roebuck, Donna Beals

Absent (1): Marina McGarr

- 1. Meeting called to order by Phil Lichtenstein 6:01 PM
- 2. Sign In / Announcements
- 3. Budget Review Marina: John Lemoine gave an overview of the marina budget. The Committee asked about aspects of the budget including travel, credit card fees, marina services and facilities, upcoming capital projects
- 4. Budget Review Public Works: Tony Smith gave an overview of the Public Works responsibilities and budget. The Committee asked about aspects of road rehabilitation, main street reconstruction, recycling, the Seal Harbor bait house, Cooksey Drive guard rails.
- 5. The Warrant Committee had a round table discussion including upcoming revisions to proposed salaries, further implementation of budgeting software, and the upcoming meeting with school officials. The Chairs of the Warrant Committee relayed that they recently spoke with the Town Manager about corrections which are needed to the personnel compensation and benefit line items in the provided Town budgets. They were assured that a corrected budget will be provided to the Warrant Committee in ample time for the Committee to review in advance of the March 10 meeting during which the Committee votes on final warrant articles. The Committee also discussed the need for further information about the historical amounts of third-party requests to inform adequate consideration of the requests.
- 6. Rules of Procedure: Sam McGee moved and Carmen Sanford seconded acceptance of the draft "Rules of Procedure" for the Warrant Committee as revised by Gail Marshall. The motion passed. 17 to 0

- 7. A motion for the approval of the minutes was made by Rodney Eason and seconded by Owen Craighead. The minutes were approved 17 to 0
- 8. The Warrant Committee adjourned at 7:40